The 1st Mission Trip: A Heart for Merapi

“Here it comes again and it should be my turn to go!”, a voice whispering in my heart.

Sunday afternoon in the middle of service, there’s an announcement about Merapi Mission Trip. ICA open 20 seats for those who want to go to Jogja, bring the 1000 packages, and distribute each of them directly to the Merapi Mountain eruption victims. The team will leave from Surabaya on the next day, Monday, at 5 AM. And will depart from Jogja a day after, Tuesday, at 5 PM. So, they will be back here at Wednesday dawn.

Wow! The trip is quite short and must be tight. Something’s telling me to go this time. I admit that I kept myself updated about Merapi eruption since its first eruption, long before this mission trip announced. Few years ago, I ever went to Jogja, stayed in Kaliurang and have a good memory with it. My uncle took my family to the nearest Merapi monitoring post in Magelang. On that cold night, without any telescope, I still could saw the lava run out from the top of mountain. Yeah, Merapi is never sleep. Maybe because of that proximity, I do want to go.

My brother was here, he came from Jakarta and we went to church together. I’m joking, “if you pay the 750 thousand, then I’ll go!”. He replied, “Ok, just if mom and dad allow you.”. Well, my mom and dad always hold back if their daughter wants to go to a mission trip. Sidikalang and Nias mission trip: I didn’t get the permission to join. I texted mom, it’s around 2 PM, and she said no, you don’t have to go there. Ok then, I am not going. But, suddenly 30 minutes later, Mom text me again and said I could go if I really want to. “You’ll never get there without being in a mission team”, mom said. I could go if my office let me go, since I still don’t get any leave periode during this contract.

There were only 5 seats left. Struggling to get the permit and finally at 5 PM, I say yes to join the team! It’s hard to get the permission but I want to go, so lets try to make it happen! I don’t even know the transportation or accommodation, or is there anyone in the team that I knew, and what to bring. All I know, I’ll be with ICA mission team who’s really reliable for mission trip. Actually, my heart and mind was indecisive beacuse of a problem. So this could be my short sanctuary to think and more of it, I could help the others.

So, I only have less than 12 hours to get ready. I come at church around 5 AM in Nov 8, 2010. Only some faces that I knew before. I am the one and only ICA East member on that trip! The rest is from ICA West member. For many of them, the Merapi Mission Trip is the 5th or more mission trip they ever joined. So, I’m a freshly newbie. A little bit frightened mixed with excitement. Afraid because I don’t know what to do. I just try to say YES for the opportunity that comes to me.

If you asked me, don’t you afraid? You’re going to an area when the disaster is stil happening. Hmm.. No! Really, I’m afraid more about what I have to do there rather than the possibility of the eruption itself. God knows my heart, my motivation, I just want to share God’s love to the victims. So, God will take care of me, He won’t let any bad things happen to me and the team. But it doesn’t mean being silly! ICA requires each of us to fully covered with special mask, special goggles, long sleeves, trousers, shoes, cap, raincoat, and another safety tools.


Our team visited 6 refugee camps in suburb of Jogja, those are around Prambanan, Sleman, and Muntilan. We droped and distributed the packages. In some refugees camp we also do the medical service, complete with doctor and free medicine. I tried to communicate with the local residents and Merapi victims who’s lost their properties. For the mission trip itself, I’ll write the details report on the next post. I’m glad that God gave me opportunity to listen to their stories. Stories which I won’t get it from the media. And the most important, I hold their hand, saw their faces, and prayed for them. Isn’t it beautiful?

I felt different about this disaster while I’m in Jogja by myself; and with what I knew from the media. Not saying that media was lying and over published, but it’s just different. A feeling that I can’t deny. Moreover, what I saw along the way to Muntilan refugee camps makes me felt “it”. Something that I can’t explain but I can feel it. Houses left by the owner, desolated city, roof collapsed, road covered with volcano ash and perforated because of it, rain made you see the milky water, sulfur odor filled the air, trees knocked down by the ashes and water. Terrible..


The refugee needs our support, pure smiles that strengthen them, help, and pray from us. I realize now, why I don’t even worry about the accommodation and so on? Because all I knew just following my heart that told me to go. I won’t never be ready to go, until I take the chance to go and make myself ready! Maybe what the team and I did, doesn’t mean anything for you here, but I already took and let my heart visited the refugees due to this Merapi eruption. How beautiful the chance that I’ve got: I could give a heart for Merapi..

Life is not about what you’ve done or what you should have done. It’s about what you can do and what you will do. – Anonymous


©BG|Sby|131110|11:38PM

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: 2010 « Lukisan Kata Tulisan Warna
  2. Ria Suryatriyastuti
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 19:28:10

    ICA tuh apa yaa Be?

    Reply

  3. Olivia Setyawan (B'Lieve EO)
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 17:41:15

    Great..🙂 I’m happy to know you & have you in the mission trip🙂
    You’re such a blessing… in fact.. you were the only person who had a chance to pray for the refugee… Well done ‘lil sis..🙂 Keep on being brave🙂 & just be ready whenever God use u🙂 God bless u🙂

    Reply

    • BeBe Gunawan
      Nov 15, 2010 @ 21:15:49

      Thanks for finally visiting my blog Ce Oliv. So glad I could worked together with you in this team. I’m so impressed with your mission trip’s soul Sist, I have to learn more from you.

      “you were the only person who had a chance to pray for the refugee…” —> Really?? Bebe likes it so much!!

      Reply

  4. Jonathan Ferdarico
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 09:45:00

    Excellent! I like how u discribe situation in there, keep writting sis! i’ll support you🙂

    Reply

  5. Eric
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 00:59:05

    You put a very good words here “i want to share God love to them”.
    i think many christian forget this motivation when they go to mission trip.

    Reply

  6. Vincent "Qing-He"
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:31:02

    woww… proud of you be!!!!
    you’re not only share your life to education but also to the humanity…
    keep the spirit girl!!

    Reply

  7. tansil
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 23:23:02

    Bebe! I didn’t know u go to ica..
    it must be one of the most meaningful trips of yours..
    Proud of u dear..

    Reply

  8. yohana ivone
    Nov 14, 2010 @ 22:33:53

    Sangaarr gitu yo fotomu..pengalaman yg berharga bngt ya be…hikkss..smakin membuatku sedih krn aku ga dapet ijin kesana…😦

    Reply

Leave a Reply

www.widiantigunawan.wordpress.com
